Coffee

There are very few things that I miss from the states food-wise, as I’m pretty fortunate here with my selection.  However, there is one thing I have missed from the very start.

Sigh… real coffee.

Most coffee that’s here (and throughout Africa in general) is freeze-dried /powdered crap.  Usually some brand like Nescafe or Africafe.  And it’s not necessarily that it’s bad per se, but it’s just… not… good.

Plus I’m historically bad at estimating the proper coffee powder to water ratio (since each brand is different), so my coffee either ends up super weak:

Weak sleepy coffee

Or so overpowering I lose the ability to blink:

Super duper WEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!1!!

Someday, some beautiful day, I’ll find my happy medium drip coffee again:

Mmmmmm

7 responses to “Coffee

  1. similar to indonesia- a country (or continent, in your case) that exports tons of great coffee, but on a daily basis you can only find the crappy instant stuff!! capitalism 😦

    • Exactly! Super sad face. Although I wonder, never having been to South/Central America – is it the same there? Or do they actually get real coffee?

      I should admit that the supermarket near me (which I call one of two “white person stores” in Juba) DOES sell drip coffee… however I’ve yet to see an actual coffee maker anywhere or coffee filters, so I don’t really know who buys it.

  2. I remember visiting you in South Africa where you tried to convince me that Nescafe was almost as good as the real thing…

    • Mom, I know! Such irony. I have since realized that nescafe was what made me a coffee addict to begin with. Before that I’d mostly been drinking pretty sugary/cream-ed coffee (frapaccinos and stuff from my campus which was mocha-like stuff). I hadn’t really experienced good, delicious coffee enough to know what I was missing. Then I moved back to the states, started working a lot of nights, and drinking actual decent coffee.

      I’ve now seen the errors of my way.

      Also, remember when Beth and I both used to complain how “Coffee tastes like dirt”? Ooohh the errors of my ways… so long ago now…

  3. Yeah, it’s exactly the same in South America. In both Guatemala and Ecuador (and especially Guatemala) they grow GREAT coffee, but they all drink Nescafe at home. Sadly the same is also true for their yummy chocolate. I heard that they add all this stuff to the chocolate there to keep it from melting because it’s so hot in most places. You end up getting some really terrible chocolate-like substances. I remember missing coffee so much that first week or so and going through some not so fun withdrawal hahaha…

  4. Pingback: 525,600 | erininjuba

  5. Pingback: Maybe It Will? | erininjuba

Leave a Reply

