South Sudan National Anthem

I guess with 2.5 weeks left to independence, I should probably start learning this…

South Sudan Oyee! (Yes, real title)

Oh God!
We praise and glorify you
For your grace on South Sudan,
Land of great abundance
Upholds us united in peace and harmony

Oh motherland!
We rise! Raising flag with the guiding star
And sing songs of freedom with joy,
For justice, liberty and prosperity
Shall for evermore reign.

 Oh great patriots!
Let us stand up, in silence and respect
Saluting our martyrs whose blood,
Cemented our national foundation
We vow to protect our nation.

 Oh God, bless South Sudan

(Available to download here: http://www.goss-online.org/magnoliaPublic/en/home/mainColumnParagraphs/0/content_files/file/South%20Sudan%20National%20Anthem.mp3 )

Basically I expect to see a lot of this in the upcoming weeks:

Anthem Dancey

I have to admit that I do find it slightly interesting that in a country where most people still believe in traditional/animist beliefs, the national anthem references “God” in a very Christian fashion.  Shows the influence of those in power…

4 responses to “South Sudan National Anthem

  1. This one might be my favorite picture yet. I imagine him dancing to “Wavin’ Flag” (and kinda read the national anthem to that tune too).

  2. Hahaha, that’s good. I’d rather that’s what the anthem is, because I’m not gonna lie, I think the anthem is really boring and lame.

  3. **dumb question**
    What does “OYEE!” mean? (And in what language?)
    **/dumb question**

Leave a Reply

