A Little Help, Please?

In the time I’ve been here, I have read over 60 books.  I’ve read everything from god awful free crap to classics to books about aid to dystopian to trash romance to straight up fiction.  I even got sucked into what turned out to be a book about religion.  I’ve read a lot of young adult.  I’ve read and reread and reread again.

But I’m out of books right now, and searching around on Amazon right now for good things doesn’t seem all that appealing, so I’m calling for a little help from my friends.

If you have any good book recommendations (preferably fiction, but not exclusively), please either post here or send me an email.

You’ll be my friend forever.

10 responses to “A Little Help, Please?

  1. Oh, forgot, caveat being they have to be kindle-accessible books.

    Thanks for the suggestions I’ve already received!

  2. hi erin! i recently read a book that made me think of you: ‘the darling’ by russell banks. it’s about a woman who moves to liberia in the 90s and gets caught up in the civil war there. i don’t know how to check if it’s available on kindle though… i kind of bet it’s not. if not, keep the suggestion in your pocket for later! i’m also looking forward to reading ‘the fear: robert mugabe and the martyrdom of zimbabwe’ by peter godwin, which i bet is available being a new and well-reviewed book. my africa-themed suggestions are probably not good if you’re looking for reading as escapism though… 🙂

    • That’s awesome. I checked out the darling, and you’re right, I totally want to read it but it’s not on kindle. Don’t worry though, I requested the publisher to make it available (I’m sure that’ll help… I’ve been asking for a book on the history of malaria (because I’m a nerd) for the past 8 months and that hasn’t really had any effect).

      The Mugabe book is available though! Totally downloading. Awesome.

      I remember way back in the day, you recommended to me that I read “Sirens of Titan” by Vonnegut. To this day it’s still my favorite Vonnegut, even after I’ve read at least 7 or 8 of his other titles.

  3. oh, that’s awesome! in that case, i’ll suggest a couple more:
    ‘a visit from the goon squad’ by jennifer egan
    ‘freedom’ by jonathan franzen
    ‘the wind-up bird chronicle’ by haruki murakami (recently read this for the 2nd time)
    all books i’ve enjoyed recently and all available for kindle (i figured out how to check)!

  4. I’m finding recently that some of the kindle books that are out in paperback still have the hardcover price on kindle 😦 (including one I was going to recommend to you – I’ll save it for you!)

  5. Carly recommends city of thieves. It’s our next book club book, so maybe you could read it and then we could skype with you from door county during our book “discussion” 🙂

  6. I don’t pay extra for nook books either if I can get it cheaper as a paper book. No me gusta.

Leave a Reply

