Possibly the Most Pathetic-but-Awesome Thing I’ve Ever “Baked”

About two weeks ago, I decided to bake my coworkers a cake in celebration of independence.  I thought this was a fantastic idea, however after I had already mixed together all my ingredients, I realized I had no idea how to turn on the oven.

You see, my kitchen comes equipped with a propane oven/stove, and while lighting the stove part is pretty self-explanatory, no one ever showed me how to turn on the oven.

Deciding it was best to try to not burn down my house (which is only about 6 months old) by trying to light something mysterious involving explosive gas vapors, I instead turned to my good friend The Interwebz.  I initially lookedfor instructions on how to light the oven, but thankfully The Interwebz had other plans, and steered me to another solution: The microwave.

(Sidenote: To the people I gchatted randomly, inquiring “Do you think microwaving a cake will work?” who then mocked me: I WIN.)

It turns out that not only can you easily bake in a microwave, but it’s about eleventy billion times faster than baking in an oven.  And comes with that added benefit of not burning down your house.

Microwave > Oven

Fast forward to the fact that not only did I discover that you can bake in a microwave, but you can bake individual servings of cake in a mug in the microwave.

I KNOW.

The Interwebz know EVERYTHING.

Today I decided to try this out. The recipe I have, however, had a few things that I didn’t have here, so I had to make some substitutions, because I refuse to let a stupid thing like “ingredients” get in my way of cake.  NOSIREE.

  • coffee mug << This I have!
  • 4 tablespoons flour << Also have!
  • 4 tablespoons sugar << Totes have, I’m on a roll
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa << Not so much
  • 2 tablespoons whisked egg << Nope
  • 3 tablespoons milk << Sort of
  • 3 tablespoons oil << Uh, no
  • 3 tablespoons chocolate chips << No
  • splash vanilla or other flavoring << Negatory
    For a fudgier version, omit egg! << Super awesome
Umm… ok. So I didn’t have a lot of things. However, this is where creativity gets involved.
  • Flour? sugar? check.
  • Milk? Uhh, powdered milk works, right? (kinda)
  • Oil? Replace with butter.
  • Egg? The end says you can leave it out!
  • Choc chips? Vanilla?  Psshhh just extra garnish
  • Cocoa?  Replace with chocolate syrup (totes the same thing) (and yes, it’s weird that I have chocolate syrup but not eggs. I realize this. But that’s just how the world works sometimes, people. Geesh)
Oh, I also don’t have real measuring utensils, so all “measurements” are more “approximations.”  I threw it all together and popped it in the microwave, and what would you know but 3 minutes later I had myself a single serving of the most ghettofantastic mug cake you’d ever seen in your life.

Mmm slightly disturbing cake substance...

And you know what? It was delicious.
Well. Minus the burned parts.
(This leads me to shamelessly promote Hannah Hart’s My Drunk Kitchen, Ep. 4: Not Easy, Bake Oven, in which she ingeniously also does not burn down her kitchen, albeit through completely separate means)
3 responses to “Possibly the Most Pathetic-but-Awesome Thing I’ve Ever “Baked”

  1. Much better than week-old cake. WIN!

  2. OH MY GOD my friends and I used to use this exact recipe for microwave brownies CONSTANTLY. Particularly great when you need a 30-minute break from exam studying and a sugar-boost. Even better if you can ever get your hands on you chocolate chips.

    (Err, by the way, hullo! I clicked into your blog from the Mother Jones article about Sam Childers, and have been sort of combing through your back entries since. Enjoying it much.)

    • Hullo right back atcha! Since first posting this, I’ve made this cake, err, well… a lot more than I should admit. It’s perfect for a snack after work or dinner. I admit that it’s much better with the egg involved, but I still stand FIRMLY by the substitution of chocolate syrup for cocoa powder.

      Enjoy the blog!

Leave a Reply

