Google Mapping Juba

I wanted to know how far point A and point B were in Juba, and remembered discovering a few weeks back Google Maps had updated their satellite view of Juba.  Since back home, Google Maps is how I figure out distances, I was like, “Hmmm…Perhaps all their mapping technology was updated for Juba and I can now use my ridiculous dependency on the internet here, too!”

I tried it out to see me what sort of walking directions it would give me. It’s shockingly more or less correct, however there’s one part that made me giggle:

Not so much

In case you can’t read that, it says “Use caution — This route may be missing sidewalks or pedestrian pathways.”

Ummm…. THANKS GOOGLE MAPS!

There are about 7 feet of sidewalks in all of Juba, so I’m pretty sure you could move that “May” to “Is”

Also that little lightning-bolt shaped jog between the two yellow roads near the bottom?  That pretty much goes directly over a field where lots of little kids play football.

I’m totally google mapping EVERYTHING in Juba from now on.

Leave a Reply

