If Not Chapati, Why Not Rolex?

And as an appropriate follow up to my last post slash ode to rolex, my new favorite rolex stand is this one we ran across on a quick weekend trip to Nimule, which asks the oh so vital question:

If Not Chapati, Why Not Rolex?

Really, the question is always “Why not rolex?”  Always.

Confirm, I do.

Also, for anyone who has ever experienced South Sudanese roads (or heard/read about them from me/others), I would like everyone to take a moment and appreciate the sheer awesomeness of this picture:

YES THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE

Yes, yes that is a man ROLLERBLADING.  On a tarmac road. Namely, the end of a 192km stretch of (nearly all) tarmacked road in between Juba and Nimule.

BEHOLD THE POWER OF DEVELOPMENT, PEOPLE.

3 responses to “If Not Chapati, Why Not Rolex?

  1. Um, this is hilarious and it makes me wish I was in the car to see it as well. Just so you know, as one who is also working in SS, your posts always get an actual laugh out of me. And not a mere giggle mind you, but a good laugh ;)

  2. Pingback: South Sudan Teeters On Collapse But At Least I Can Get Coffee | erininjuba

Leave a Reply

