Jet Lag Progression

The inevitable 4am progression…

A small noise, such as air being expelled from my lungs, or the electric hum of the refrigerator will inevitably become too much for my brain, which registers these innocuous sounds as signals to be awake.

And thus it begins

Uh oh

I think maybe it’s not real.  Maybe I can just deny it’s existence and force myself back to sleepland.

Come on, body. YOU’RE BETTER THAN THIS

And then usually I have a short moment where I’m certain I’ve won. Bested the jet lag. Tamed the beast. Won the hard fought battle of righteousness. And all is good.

Wiiiiiiiiiiin!!!

But of course, to have those thoughts is a cruel joke and conduit to realizing that indeed, my body still lays awake.

Oh. Wait.

And 4am has defeated me.

Bollocks

At least here there’s air conditioning and internet at 4am. And MS Paint.

Leave a Reply

