Un-Juba Related

I had a sad moment recently when I realized that I had to remove my “Driver of the Year” Award from my CV in order to make room for a publication title. It was one small step towards adulthood, and one giant leap backwards from my favorite job of all time.

Oh, and if you think I’m kidding about the award, check out the sweet plaque I got for it. Yes, yes that is a 3-D fake golden astrovan next to my name:

Don’t even pretend you’re not jealous.

Mock away, however it is quite literally one of the things in my life of which I am most proud.

The day I was hired, my boss shook my hand and said, “Congratulations. Welcome to the best job you’ll ever have.” For 3 years while I was in school, I worked my butt off there, and despite the crazy hours, rude/drunk passengers, and rush hour traffic jams, I’m pretty sure he was right.

It has traveled with me across multiple cities, and only didn’t make it to Juba because of space/weight constraints. Plus the fact I didn’t want to risk damaging it. Currently, it hangs in my old room at my parents house.

All this to say:  The realization I had after having to take this momentous step was that I also have, you know, multiple higher education degrees. To achieve these diplomas, I have spent thousands of hours studying, researching, and writing, and furthermore depriving myself of sleep and sanity and upwards of so-many-thousands-that-I-don’t-even-want-to-calculate-it-for-my-own-sanity of dollars.

Yet those? Those remain unframed. Somewhere*.  In fact, I’m not even sure I ever physically received my last one.

Priorities.

Obviously they’re aligned properly.

*By “somewhere” I mean “I don’t have the foggiest clue where”.

2 responses to “Un-Juba Related

  1. Why have you hidden your surname? Is it not “In Juba”? 😉

  2. I like to *pretend* that I’m semi-anonymous sometimes. 🙂 I almost wrote in “In Juba” on there but was too lazy, sadly.

Leave a Reply

