Serendipity

I got into the car this morning just as the radio station was sending out birthday wishes and a special birthday song for all people born today.

I’ve never heard any radio stations in South Sudan do this (or more likely I’ve never paid attention to it), but I felt it quite fitting as today is the anniversary of my birth.

Upon arriving to work, my officemate and I had the following conversation:

Me: M***, today is my birthday.
M***: Oh! You are turning twenty-something?
Me: Ermmm… Yes. Exactly. I am turning twenty-something.
M***: (laughs) Oh, that is the best age to be.

He’s a doctor so it must be true.  Here’s to another birthday in South Sudan, and another year of being the best age to be.

5 responses to “Serendipity

  1. Twenty-what (too much curiosity)?

  2. Is this your 3rd bday in a row in juba? Weird.

  3. I hope you had a great birthday, Erin! I’m so proud of you and the work
    you are doing in South Sudan! Love, Aunt Sue

Leave a Reply

