Juba Gives Thanks

Image

Nom nom nom

There’s a lot to be thankful for here in the world’s newest country. In Juba we gathered together to appreciate this properly last night.  There was food; there was alcohol; there was laughing; there was dancing. We stuffed ourselves silly, made inappropriate comments, and went back for thirds. America would have been proud. 

Personally, I’m a little impressed with myself as well – I made my first pumpkin pie from scratch. And by “from scratch” I don’t just mean from a pumpkin or made my own crust (which I’m impressed with nonetheless); I also evaporated the milk, and ground the cinnamon bark, and crushed the cloves. It was a labor of love that which I was unaware I could direct towards cooking. 

And also made me very thankful for electricity and blenders. 

Happy thanks, y’all.

 

Leave a Reply

